08.30 – 10.00 Registration and welcome coffee

Welcoming remarks

10.00 – 10.15 “Stepping up the EU’s fight against food waste”, address by Stella Kyriakides, European Commissioner for Health 
10.15 – 10.30 Opening remarks by Jaana Husu-Kallio, Permanent Secretary of the Minister of Agriculture and Forestry of Finland

Combatting food waste

10.30 – 11.00 “Food loss and waste prevention – making the business case for people, business and our planet”, Keynote presentation by Dr Liz Goodwin, Director, Food Loss and Waste, World Resources Institute

11.00 – 11.30 “EU action to fight food loss and waste – what have we achieved and where are the challenges ahead?” by Sabine Jülicher, Director, Food and feed safety, innovation, DG SANTE and Chair of the EU Platform on Food Losses and Food Waste

11.30 – 12.00 Presentation of the national Finnish food waste prevention programme by Minna Huttunen, Senior officer, Food policy, Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry of Finland

12.00 – 12.30 Q&A with audience

12.30 – 13.00 Food Heroes Awards – introduction by Marjon Krol, Project leader Food Heroes and presentations by finalists – Naomi Smith (enVie), Wouter Bruins (In Ovo) and Axel Briere (Mussella)


13.00 – 14.30 “No food waste” lunch – special menu made from food parts which otherwise would have been discarded, proposed by chef G. Piccarreta


EU Platform on Food Losses and Food Waste: recommendations for action in food loss and waste prevention

14.30 – 16.30 Presentation of recommendations for action for each stage of the food supply chain (primary production, manufacturing, retail, hospitality/food service, consumption, food redistribution), as well as cross-cutting recommendations and discussion with audience

Round table including:

  • Anette Toft, Chair of the working party on Foodstuff, Copa-Cogeca
  • Bruce Learner, Senior Manager, CSR and Partnerships, Kellogg Europe, representing FoodDrinkEurope
  • Vic De Meester, Head Environmental Department, Colruyt Group, representing EuroCommerce
  • Johannes Cornelis Kant, Head of Public Affairs, Royal Dutch Horeca Association (KHN), representing HOTREC
  • Ylva Haglund, Food Waste Campaigns Manager, Zero Waste Scotland
  • Jacques Vandenschrik, President, European Food Banks Federation
  • Anne-Laure Gassin, policy officer, DG SANTE E1 and Chair of the Platform’s Action & Implementation sub-group


16.30 – 16.45 Coffee break


16.45 – 17.45 Enabling food loss and waste prevention: role of public authorities

Interactive round table discussion with:

  • Alexandra Nikolakopoulou, Head of Unit, SANTE E1, European Commission
  • Rosa Rolle, Team Leader, Food Loss and Waste, Nutrition and Food Systems Division, Food and Agriculture Organisation
  • Deputy Mayor Tine Heyse, Mayor for Environment, Climate, Energy and North-South of the City of Ghent
  • Angelina Balz, Division Sustainable Nutrition, Reduction of Food Waste, Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture, Germany
  • Minna Huttunen, Senior officer, Food policy, Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry, Finland
  • Marija Batinić Sermek, Head of Sector, Service for Food Quality and Food Information, Ministry of Agriculture, Croatia
  • Daniëlle Kretz, Team Coordinator for 'Sustainable Food', Ministry of Agriculture, Nature and Food Quality, The Netherlands
  • Cécile Fèvre, Mission Leader Waste Prevention, Ministry for the Ecological and Inclusive Transition, France


17.45 – 18.00 Closing address: “Moving forward towards SDG 12.3” – Anne Bucher, Director-General, Directorate-General for Health and Food Safety


18.00 – 20.00 Networking drink